I’m restless, til I rest in Christ.

December 20, 2011

                                          “I’m Restless, I’m Restless, til I rest in You.”

   “I have learned in whatever situation I’m in to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:11-13).

                                          I think contentment is something that will come as a struggle at different points in our lives. And when this happens, contentment is something we must fight for. John Piper’s famous saying rings so true: “God is most glorified in us, when we are most satisfied in Him!”

                                        It’s easy to feel like contentment is impossible in this life when we are facing discontentment. Maybe you’ve thought like I have that its impossible because we will always have needs on this earth. We are not yet with Christ in heaven. But all of our needs we already know are taken care of by our Heavenly Father who loves us! Jesus promises in Matthew 6 to take care of His children. He says that “the birds of the air neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet Your Heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?” He says, “Do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble” (M. 6:34). All our needs we know will be met.

                                                   Contentment IS possible! God’s Word says, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Phil. 4).

I asked a friend the other day, “How do you know when to stop praying for something?”

He said, “The Holy Spirit will make it clear to you. And deep down, you really know if you should keep praying or if you should stop.”

I agreed with him and then He said something else that really hit me, its so easy! He said, “When you face a dry time in your relationship with Christ, when do you stop praying?”

I said, “You don’t.”

He said, “Exactly!”

Put so simply. But yet it seems like I give up when my prayer isn’t answered in my time. But God wants us to persevere in faith.

When it comes to being satisfied in Christ. The sin of discontentment, we must fight and not give up until God answers our pleas! Don’t give up begging Christ to satisfy you, for His glory. He will answer, in His time, for His glory, for your good. Don’t stop praying til He acts!

In Genesis 32 it records the story when Jacob wrestled with God. He did not let God go until He blessed Him. In the same way, we need to fight for the things in which we know pleases God. And until God acts, don’t give up!

It is God’s will that we be thankful, so fight for it! It is God’s will that we forgive others, when bitterness comes, fight for love and forgiveness in your heart. And don’t stop until God acts upon your heart and causes you to truly have biblical love for the one or ones who have committed wrong to you. If you are quick to anger, fight for patience. And plead with God to act upon your heart to make you patient. And don’t give up til He acts!

When it comes to the topic of this letter, if you are discontent in your circumstance: fight! Don’t give up your pleas to the Lord for contentment until He answers! Don’t give up, He does fully satisfy. But when He acts, seek Him still more and more. He’s worth it!

“Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving” (Colossians 4:2).

“The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working” (James 5:16).

“But seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things will be added to you” (Matthew 6:33).

Count Your Blessings ❤

So that you may know Him still more and more,

❤ Kimberli Marie

Psalm 73:25-26 “Whom have I in heaven but You, and on earth there is none I desire besides You. My heart and my flesh may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

Leave a Reply

