Peace

February 19, 2013

 

There are so many precious promises that I cling to and have because I am God’s child. Many of them I do not yet understand, and while some of them I know, and my life has been changed by them, I still need to grow to believe them more and more.

Two weeks ago at discipleship camp God reminded me of His promise of peace. And since then He has been putting tests along my way so that He could show me that He means what He says. He is proving to me, that He does not lie, that every word of His is true.

This is what He says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:6-7).

 

I’ve been confused many times after I pray because God hasn’t answered my prayers in the way I wanted Him to, or He hasn’t answered me in my timing, or I just haven’t received the answer yet even after years of praying. So, because God doesn’t work the way I want Him to (duh), I get confused as to what I am actually promised in this life. But as His Word says, when we ask for wisdom, in faith, without doubting, He will give it to us. So I asked God for the wisdom to know what I am actually receiving when I pray and as I wait on Him to answer my prayers. And those verses were my answer.

 

God has promised His peace. To us who are in Christ, when we pray, He will give us His peace. Every time, He is going to exchange our anxiousness with His peace. He will guard our hearts and our minds with it through the life and death and resurrection of Christ. I have been adopted as God the Father’s very own daughter and His precious promises are for me. I’m so thankful for this promise of peace.

 

These past few weeks I’ve had multiple times that my heart was anxious and not at rest. But by God’s grace I’ve gone to Him with my prayers and supplication with thanksgiving and He has been faithful to His promise. I’ve received His peace. And although I should not be surprised, I am taken back every time that I have His peace when I leave that place of sweet fellowship with my Father.

 

God is so wise and kind. You see, the medicine from the doctor down the street cannot compare to this medicine for us as God’s child. Our medicine is a one on one, intimate time with the LORD of the Universe! The medicine in itself is such a gift and so undeserved! (It’s free too!) I’m so thankful for the wisdom and mercy of God that the remedy for my anxious heart is time in the Holy Father’s presence! I’m amazed every time! I can lose joy sometimes because I know how easily I become anxious in this life. But you and I don’t need to worry about that either. Just take the medicine, the medicine is better than words can describe. In His presence there is fullness of joy, and His peace is offered and promised in that amazing place.

 

Overflowing with His grace. So that you may know Him still more and more,

❤ Kimberli Marie

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment